In an emergency, call Triple Zero (000)

Media Releases

Resilient Australia Awards 2017

9 May 2017

The 2017 Resilient Australia Awards are now open!

The national awards, now in their 18th year, recognise and promote initiatives that help make our communities safer, stronger and better prepared to manage natural disasters.

They are open to all Victorians, including individuals, not for profit organisations, businesses both large and small, local and state government, schools, education institutions, research bodies and emergency management agencies.

Last year a number of Victorian projects were recognised as part of the awards including:
-        Glenn Daniels for his image ‘Fire Ranges’
-        Yarra City Council’s Keep Cool in Yarra campaign
-        Anglesea Primary School’s Fire Education Partnership Survive and Thrive Program
-        ARC Ventures for Leading from Within - Building Resilient Communities program
-        Australian Red Cross Grampians for the RediCommunity Project

Emergency Management Commissioner Craig Lapsley said resilience is foundation upon which we build our future, to strengthen the foundation on which we prepare for and respond to and recover from emergencies.

“Building resilience in our communities is an ongoing process that includes developing opportunities for communities, emergency management organisations, government, business, industry and non-government organisations to better identify strengths and opportunities to overcome challenges through co-design and collaborative approaches.”

“Every person, every family, every organisation and every community will have their own journey toward resilience, and we encourage those who have forged their own path to apply and be recognised for their work.”

Applications will be judged at the state and territory level, and the winners will become finalists for the national judging.

2017 Victorian awards
The awards are held at both state and national level. There are five categories at state level:

·        Resilient Australia Community Award: Communities, non-government organisations, tertiary colleges and universities.
·        Resilient Australia Business Award: Private sector and business.
·        Resilient Australia Government Award: Local Government and State Government.
·        Resilient Australia School Award: Pre-school, infants, primary and secondary schools.
·        Resilient Australia Photography Award (People’s Choice Award): Open to individual photographers/copyright holders.

2017 National Awards
Winners from each state category will advance to the National Awards, where entrants are judged in the following categories:

·        Resilient Australia National Award: projects which have benefited three or more states and territories, as well as state winners from the Community, Business or Government categories.
·        Resilient Australia School National Award: winners of the state and territory school awards will be eligible.
·        Resilient Australia National Photography Award (Editor’s Choice Award) - the winning photograph will appear on the cover of the Australian Journal of Emergency Management.

Applications are open until 30 June 2017. For more information and to apply head to